New album for The Kooks


The Kooks will release their eagerly awaited new album, Konk on April 15, 2008. The album takes its name from Ray Davies’ studio in North London where it was recorded over a six week period at the tail-end of 2007, plus a week at Los Angeles' Sound Factory. It is the follow-up to their outstanding debut album Inside In, Inside Out, which was also recorded at Konk.

The new album once again united the group with esteemed producer Tony Hoffer (Beck/Air/The Fratellis). Explaining how he came to suggest the album title, guitarist Hugh says, ‘I just started thinking how cool the studio is, and how much of a part of our sound it is.’

Konk features twelve tracks which include: "Gap" which is classic Kooks and "Shine On" which finds Luke exploring hitherto unchartered lyrical territory over the loveliest of melodies. It’s destined to become another lynchpin in The Kooks’ live set. First single "Always Where I Need To Be" is a tumbling rocker with a ‘do-do-do, do-do-do-do’ refrain that might just be the catchiest thing they’ve ever done. This great new single has just gone to radio today. "Sway" and "Mr Maker" are other album highlights.

The band are doing a few select 'buzz' gigs in North America including one in Toronto at the Mod Club on February 11. The gig sold out in minutes - not surprising considering how the demand for their previous Toronto show involved upsizing the venue. The band are also headlining the NME Shockwaves show at The Astoria in London on Feb 25, have a 10 date tour of the UK in April and will play second headline at The Isle Of Wight Festival in June.

The Kooks debut Inside In/Inside Out has sold two million copies worldwide since its release in 2006 and spawned massive singles "She Moves In Her Own Way," "You Don’t Love Me," "Sofa Song," "Eddie’s Gun," "Ooh La" and "Naïve."


Facebook icon
Twitter icon
Instagram icon